Parents Association

The Parents Association of St. Patrick’s National School, Strangsmills was first established in 2005 and is affiliated to the National Council. The aims of the Association are to work in partnership with the Board of Management and teachers of the school to enhance the educational experience of our children.

All parents who have children enrolled in the school are automatically members of the Parents Association. A Committee is formed as a representative body of parents, giving parents a voice in the decision making process, which ultimately affects our children. There are two parents (one male and one female) elected by all parents of the school onto the Board of Management and the term is four years.

The Parents Association is actively involved in the provision of extra-curricular activities which may not otherwise be available to the children. In the past and on an ongoing basis the Association has conducted the following activities:


The school tracksuit was recently updated thanks to the work of the PA for liaising with the various providers to find suitable alternatives.

School Policies

The Parents Association are asked to contribute to the development of relevant school policies to give a parental perspective on the content of the policy.


Contributions from fundraising are made from the Parents Association funds to the school, to enable the purchase of books, resources, IT resources, external tutors etc to assist the education of our children.

Annual Raffle

Each year a Christmas Raffle is organised and run by the Parents Association with the support of local businesses and parents. This has been our main fundraiser and has proven very successful.

First Holy Communion

The Parents are asked to help out at Kilmacow Community centre on the day of the First Holy Communion to help serve tea/coffee to the families making the sacrament. It is a lovely idea to pay it forward or back to those parents who helped out on another Holy Communion occasion.

Parents Association Members

  • Jessica Murphy (Chairperson)
  • Tara Browne (Secretary)
  • Nicole Shanahan (Treasurer)

The PA can be contacted at